Arts and Culture

For great arts and culture content and discussion

both on-air and online, start here. Arts and cultural programming on WXXI TV and Radio as well as online discussion and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Featured Programming

Thursday, December 25, 2014 - 2:00pm
Celebrate the holiday season with the Purdue Christmas Show, one of Indiana’s most time-honored traditions.
Thursday, December 25, 2014 - 10:00pm
Celebrate Christmas with soprano Voigt and actor Rhys-Davies, who join the choir and orchestra.
Friday, December 26, 2014 - 9:00pm
Explore the life and legend of this iconic entertainer through never-before-seen footage and interviews
Sunday, December 28, 2014 - 8:00pm
Follow the trials and tribulations of amateur bakers whose goal is to be named the U.K.’s best.
Monday, December 29, 2014 - 10:00pm
Follow the personal journey of Arnel Pineda, of the rock band Journey, on a whirlwind world tour. 
Wednesday, December 31, 2014 - 10:00pm
Ring in the New Year with a celebration that recalls the heyday of glamorous New York nightclubs.
Thursday, January 1, 2015 - 8:00pm
Stage and screen legend Julie Andrews returns for the sixth time to host the festive annual New Year’s celebration with the Vienna Philharmonic
Thursday, January 1, 2015 - 9:30pm
This documentary profiles Prince George, the son of Prince William of England and Kate Middleton, and explores what the royal child's life might be like.
Thursday, January 1, 2015 - 10:00pm
Classical 91.5 is proud to bring Fiesta! to the airwaves
Friday, January 2, 2015 - 9:00pm
Enjoy this tribute to singer-songwriter Joel, recipient of the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.
Tuesday, January 6, 2015 - 10:00pm
Concierto, a weekly program of classical music presented in Spanish and English, features classical music by Latin American and Spanish composers and musicians. 
Thursday, January 8, 2015 - 10:00pm
Jason Marsalis Vibes Quartet kicks off Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival, Season 6
Friday, January 9, 2015 - 9:00pm
The art of singing is center stage in our country’s popular culture:

Recently Aired

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Brasso Profundo, part of New Horizons, and the Mambo Kings perform a free concert in celebration of PBS Arts Fall Festival.
Monday, December 22, 2014 - 8:00pm
Vintage treasures from the 1940s-60s, including an Elvis standee, MLK letter and Charles Schulz art.
Friday, December 19, 2014 - 10:00pm
For the first time on Live From Lincoln Center, the curtain will be drawn back on one of the world’s premier ballet academies – the School of American Ballet
Thursday, December 18, 2014 - 1:00pm
Host Julia Figueras invites Cordancia Chamber Orchestra to Studio A for a special Backstage Pass performance before a live studio audience
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 - 12:00pm
Adorable, spirited Peg and her sidekick Cat embark on three holiday adventures and learn foundational math concepts and skills
share

 

Arts and Culture