Arts and Culture

For great arts and culture content and discussion

both on-air and online, start here. Arts and cultural programming on WXXI TV and Radio as well as online discussion and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below. Read more

Featured Programming

Friday, February 27, 2015 - 8:30pm
This week, discover Rochester's own Brittany Leigh and Kurt Feuerherm.
Friday, February 27, 2015 - 9:00pm
Dawning in the dark aftermath of World War II, the fertile mid-century decades of Italian cinema delighted international movie audiences with an eclectic mix of movie classics from groundbreaking directors
Sunday, March 1, 2015 - 10:30pm
Examine the dramatic life of writer/activist Alice Walker, author of The Color Purple.
Tuesday, March 3, 2015 - 8:00pm
Returning to public television 25 years after its groundbreaking debut,
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 7:00pm
Amlan Ganguly is a visionary. This lawyer-turned-community activist is not only changing a neighborhood, but also changing the way its youngest residents envision their lives.
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 8:00pm
Thrill to the music of Muddy Waters and other blues legends in a concert not seen on TV for 40 years.
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 7:00pm
View a portrait of a Syrian leader who challenges women to live according to Islam without giving up their dreams. 
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - 8:00pm
Follow the Mexican-American girls who help preserve the Martha Washington debutante ball in Laredo. 
Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 12:00pm
Reveals the unique and distinctive qualities of one immigrant group’s experience, and how these qualities, over time, have shaped and challenged America.
Friday, March 20, 2015 - 9:00pm
Go well beyond a biographical recounting of a star’s rise and fall by interweaving Garland’s personal story with discerning parallels from her films.
Saturday, June 6, 2015 - 5:45pm
WXXI is pleased to bring public radio’s beloved variety show with Garrison Keillor to CMAC.

Recently Aired

Friday, September 26, 2014 - 12:00pm
Brasso Profundo, part of New Horizons, and the Mambo Kings perform a free concert in celebration of PBS Arts Fall Festival.
Monday, February 23, 2015 - 7:00pm
Discover the life, music and influence of African-American gospel singer and guitar virtuoso Rosetta Tharpe. 
Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 1:00pm
Richard Eyre’s mesmerizing production of Bizet’s steamy melodrama returns with mezzo-soprano Anita Rachvelishvili singing her signature role
Saturday, February 21, 2015 - 6:00am
Celebrate the Chinese New Year with us. Explore the country, delicious food and traditional designs.  
Friday, February 20, 2015 - 10:30pm
Benedict Cumberbatch portrays Vincent Van Gogh to perfection in this powerful and critically acclaimed docudrama.
share

 

Arts and Culture