Mona Seghatoleslami


Mona Seghatoleslami
Mona Seghatoleslami is the host and producer of Classical 91.5 FM weekdays from 2 p.m. to 7 p.m. She also hosts Live From Hochstein Wednesdays at 12:10 p.m.  

Before joining WXXI Mona was Classical music announcer for West Virginia Public Radio, where she also produced radio features and wrote the "Classically Speaking" blog. Originally from New Jersey, Mona studied musicology and library science at Indiana University in Bloomington, and Viola Performance at Illinois State University in Normal. While at school in Indiana, she was first introduced to radio work at WFIU Bloomington. In her free time, Mona likes to play music – including viola, electric bass, and ukulele, attend concerts, and read science fiction.

Coming up with Mona Seghatoleslami

Thursday, November 27, 2014 - 12:10pm
Three extraordinary musicians, recorded in concert for the David Hochstein Recital Competition: Vivian Yu, Martine Thomas, and Yifan Kong. 
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 12:10pm
Festive musical fun with horn players from the Eastman School of Music, led by Peter Kurau.
Wednesday, December 10, 2014 - 12:10pm
Celebrate the holidays in style, with beautiful choral music sung by Madrigalia, led by Cary Ratcliffe.

Recently with Mona Seghatoleslami

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 12:10pm
Violinist Tigran Vardanyan and pianist Doleen Hood play lyrical music by Richard Strauss, including his sonata for violin and piano.
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 12:10pm
The Ithaca Flute Duo plays music written and arranged by female flutists: Jeanne Baxtresser, Jasmine Choi, Elizabeth Shuhan, Katherine Hoover, and Nicole Chamberlain.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 12:10pm
A bicentennial celebration of the birth of the saxophone's inventor with the Vertex Saxophone Quartet.

 

Recently on Mona Seghatoleslami's Blog

Thu, 08/07/2014 - 2:26pm
Sat, 02/08/2014 - 11:03pm
Thu, 01/16/2014 - 11:46am
Wed, 08/07/2013 - 1:24pm

Mona Seghatoleslami