Music

Poet Berthold Auerbach once said,

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”
WXXI hopes that it inspires its audiences every day, and that you find the concert of musical content on this page equally inspiring. » read more about Music at WXXI

Coming Up

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 - 12:10pm
The Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, under the direction of Ward Stare, plays Mendelssohn's “Italian” Symphony and Rosssini's Barber of Seville Overture for the first concert of the new season of Live from Hochstein.
Wednesday, October 22, 2014 - 12:10pm
The Neave Trio brings a program of lively chamber music by Haydn, Schubert, Shostakovich, & Piazzolla to Live from Hochstein. The San Diego-based ensemble includes an Eastman alum, pianist Toni James.
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 12:10pm
A bicentennial celebration of the birth of the saxophone's inventor with the Vertex Saxophone Quartet.
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 12:10pm
The Ithaca Flute Duo plays music written and arranged by female flutists: Jeanne Baxtresser, Jasmine Choi, Elizabeth Shuhan, Katherine Hoover, and Nicole Chamberlain.
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 12:10pm
Violinist Tigran Vardanyan and pianist Doleen Hood play lyrical music by Richard Strauss, including his sonata for violin and piano.

Recently

Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 8:00pm
Tune in for this annual broadcast celebrating the Jewish New Year. 
Thursday, August 28, 2014 - 9:00pm
Legendary violinist Itzhak Perlman and renowned cantor Yitzchak Meir Helfgot join forces for a musical exploration. 
Friday, August 15, 2014 - 9:00pm
From the R&B pioneers to the teen crooners, the 1950s and early 1960s were an exciting musical time for the youth of America.
Wednesday, August 13, 2014 - 8:00pm
Tommy Emmanuel is arguably the greatest living acoustic guitar player and recognized as the elite of the elite.
Friday, August 1, 2014 - 9:00pm
For the 2013 Giuseppe Verdi bicentennial, Music Director Gustavo Dudamel and the LA Philharmonic perform a concert of Verdi’s "Requiem Mass" at the Hollywood Bowl.
share

 

Related Blog Posts

Wed, 09/24/2014 - 6:58am
Wed, 09/17/2014 - 9:33am
Tue, 09/09/2014 - 8:53am
Mon, 09/01/2014 - 10:58am
Tue, 08/26/2014 - 10:24am

Music