Poet Berthold Auerbach once said,

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”
WXXI hopes that it inspires its audiences every day, and that you find the concert of musical content on this page equally inspiring. » read more about Music at WXXI

Coming Up

Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 12:10pm
This bright and brilliant trio from San Diego returns to Rochester with music by Dvorak, Bernstein, and Piazzolla.
Friday, October 16, 2015 - 1:00pm
Christopher O’Riley joins Julia Figueras for Backstage Pass!
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 12:10pm
Explore the world of Beethoven's string quartets with the Amenda Quartet, who are bringing a sampler from their ongoing Project Ludwig to Live from Hochstein.
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 12:10pm
Discover beautiful music for voice, flute, and piano with the trio Gossamer Edge – mezzo-soprano Allyn van Dusyn, flutist Rita George Simmons, and pianist Paula Rodney Bobb.
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 12:10pm
Take some time to enjoy music for flute and piano by Hakim, Clarke, Gubaidulina, Gieseking, and Tsybin with the Semplice Duo.


Friday, October 9, 2015 - 10:00pm
Celebrate the 2015 recipients of the 28th annual Hispanic Heritage Awards.
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 12:10pm
Live from Hochstein returns for a new season of lunchtime concerts with a performance by the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, led by music director Ward Stare in Felix Mendelssohn's Symphony No. 3 (“Scottish”).
Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 2:00pm
Great Performances presents a look at the British invasion 50 years after both the Dave Clark Five and the Beatles hit our shores.
Sunday, September 27, 2015 - 2:00pm
See piano virtuoso Lang Lang ignite Grieg's Piano Concerto and Alan Gilbert conduct the New York Philharmonic in Beethoven's Seventh Symphony.
Thursday, September 24, 2015 - 10:00pm
Hava Nagila is instantly recognizable – musical shorthand for anything Jewish, a happy party tune that you dance to at weddings, bar mitzvahs and even at Major League Baseball games.


Related Blog Posts

Thu, 09/10/2015 - 11:32am
Wed, 07/29/2015 - 7:39am
Wed, 07/15/2015 - 10:55pm