Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 10/16/2014 (All day)

Broadway Soliloquies 

With Rodgers and Hammerstein’s new emphasis on character, soliloquies in song became central to telling the story in Broadway musicals.

Aired: Thu, 10/09/2014 (All day)

From Friend to Lover 

There’s friendship and there are love affairs, but sometimes one morphs into the other.

Aired: Thu, 10/02/2014 (All day)

Aka Mr. Ragtime 

For years before the great Ragtime Revival of the 1970s and 1980s, Max Morath kept ragtime alive almost singlehandedly, and never lost sight of the joy in the music.

Aired: Thu, 09/25/2014 (All day)

George Gershwin Early and Late

Even though George Gershwin had a discernable sound, the evolution of his style over a mere twenty years is striking.

Aired: Thu, 09/18/2014 (All day)

Come Follow the Band

Once marches got so popular in the late 19th century, it was only a matter of time before Tin Pan Alley began to set its love songs to march tempos.

Aired: Thu, 09/11/2014 (All day)

Shimmy, Stomp, Slow Drag, and Strut

The new kind of dancing the 20th century gave us—hot, sexy, and deliciously low down.  An hour of “demonstratin’.”

Aired: Thu, 09/04/2014 (All day)

Irving Berlin’s Amazing Range

Rhythm ballads, sob songs, syncopated dance tunes, ragtime songs, double songs. There was nothing the protean Irving Berlin couldn’t write.

Aired: Thu, 08/28/2014 (All day)

The Dark Side

We like to think that songs are sunny, but the also inhabit and portray a demi-monde where anything and everything goes.

Aired: Thu, 08/21/2014 (All day)

Hearing That Song Again

Giving songs new life by making a ballad into a blues, a waltz into a rag. Popular songs keep remaking themselves.

Aired: Thu, 08/14/2014 (All day)

Abe Lincoln in Song

Campaign songs, comic songs, and soaring anthems: how the songs of his time portrayed America’s 16th president.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.