Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 04/11/2013 - 12:01am

America’s First Great Songwriter

The major themes and major songs of Stephen Foster, the one 19th century songwriter everyone knows.

Aired: Thu, 04/04/2013 - 12:01am

Marriage, Sort Of

Some harder truths about the joys of marriage, given vivid expression often in the lyrics of Stephen Sondheim.

Aired: Thu, 03/28/2013 - 12:01am

Why Marry Them: The goal in a lot of songs is marriage as the culmination of love, but sometimes another question, not quite uttered, floats underneath.

Aired: Thu, 03/21/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Lyricists: Weill collaborated with Ira Gershwin and Alan Jay Lerner, but he also wrote with poets Langston Hughes and Ogden Nash, and playwright Maxwell Anderson.

Aired: Thu, 03/14/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Singers: Although Weill wrote mainly for the theater, soon popular singers began to record his songs and, in the process, gave them another American feel.

Aired: Thu, 03/07/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Songs: When Kurt Weill came to America in the 1930s, he created a new body of work that soon became certifiably American.

Aired: Thu, 02/28/2013 - 12:01am

Iconic Songs: A few songs succeed, few become standards, and even fewer become icons. These are some of the icons.

Aired: Thu, 02/21/2013 - 12:01am

Living in Loveland: The place where lovers dream of going, expressed in the elevated romanticism of operetta and the everyday talk of Tin Pan Alley.

Aired: Thu, 02/14/2013 - 12:01am

They’re All Good American Names: American names come from nearly everywhere, from history, the Bible, slang and conversation, and more. And then they turn up in songs.

Aired: Thu, 02/07/2013 - 12:01am

Dick Haymes Croons: The title says it all, an hour devoted to one of the very best of the crooners.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.