Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 05/09/2013 - 12:01am

My Fate Is in Your Hands
When you sing about fate and love in the same lyric, you’ve taken hold of the most romantic popular songs.

Aired: Thu, 05/02/2013 - 12:01am

Hurry, It’s Lovely Up Here

Songs for being up on the rooftops, from penthouses to tenements, from summer heat to pouring rain.

Aired: Thu, 04/25/2013 - 12:01am

Bing Sings the Songs of World War II
Bing Crosby’s popularity remained high during the War years, through the songs he introduced and those he covered.

Aired: Thu, 04/18/2013 - 12:01am

Who’s Sorry Now
A love affair ends and we hear the despair; that we understand. But these songs take a different approach: they’re out to get even.

Aired: Thu, 04/11/2013 - 12:01am

America’s First Great Songwriter

The major themes and major songs of Stephen Foster, the one 19th century songwriter everyone knows.

Aired: Thu, 04/04/2013 - 12:01am

Marriage, Sort Of

Some harder truths about the joys of marriage, given vivid expression often in the lyrics of Stephen Sondheim.

Aired: Thu, 03/28/2013 - 12:01am

Why Marry Them: The goal in a lot of songs is marriage as the culmination of love, but sometimes another question, not quite uttered, floats underneath.

Aired: Thu, 03/21/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Lyricists: Weill collaborated with Ira Gershwin and Alan Jay Lerner, but he also wrote with poets Langston Hughes and Ogden Nash, and playwright Maxwell Anderson.

Aired: Thu, 03/14/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Singers: Although Weill wrote mainly for the theater, soon popular singers began to record his songs and, in the process, gave them another American feel.

Aired: Thu, 03/07/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Songs: When Kurt Weill came to America in the 1930s, he created a new body of work that soon became certifiably American.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.