Music

Poet Berthold Auerbach once said,

“Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”
WXXI hopes that it inspires its audiences every day, and that you find the concert of musical content on this page equally inspiring. » read more about Music at WXXI

Coming Up

Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 9:30pm
Take a musical journey through the evolution of modern American folk music, from its roots in bluegrass to San Francisco coffee houses to clubs in Greenwich Village.
Tuesday, June 7, 2016 - 8:00pm
Enjoy the groundbreaking folk group’s biggest hits and more 1950s and ’60s chart toppers
Thursday, June 9, 2016 - 8:00pm
Celebrate legendary artists of the 1960s and 70s brought together in a once-in-a-lifetime concert
Friday, June 10, 2016 - 9:00pm
Joan Baez celebrated her 75th birthday on Saturday, January 27 at New York’s historic Beacon Theatre.
Friday, June 17, 2016 - 9:00pm
WXXI gets you ready for this year's Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival by presenting an encore boradcast of four of last year's musical performances.

Ongoing

Saturdays at 1:00 p.m.
The Lyric Opera's 2016 season continues with operas by Berg, Lehar, Verdi and Richard Strauss.

Recently

Friday, May 27, 2016 - 9:00pm
Discover the story behind the pioneering outlaw country music supergroup that featured Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, Johnny Cash and Kris Kristofferson
Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 4:00pm
Trace the creation of composer Jimmy López’s opera Bel Canto.
Friday, May 20, 2016 - 1:00pm
Classical 91.5 host Juila Figueras welcomes the Carillon Tuba Quartet from the Eastman School of Music to Backstage Pass
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 12:10pm
Find peace and hope with the Musica Spei singing favorite choral masterworks from the Medieval and Renaissance periods.
Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 11:30pm
Enjoy this tribute to singer-songwriter Joel, recipient of the Gershwin Prize for Popular Song.
share

 

Related Blog Posts

Tue, 05/31/2016 - 11:25am
Wed, 03/30/2016 - 1:08pm
Fri, 03/11/2016 - 12:19pm

Music