Asian & Pacific Islander Heritage Month

WXXI is proud to pay tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America’s history and are instrumental in its future success.

Upcoming

Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 8:00pm
Amid the bustling world of central Oregon's wild mushroom hunting camps, the lives of two former soldiers intersect.

Recently

Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 10:00pm
When a Vietnam War refugee who has grown up in America is solicited by a self-proclaimed arms dealer, he finds himself drawn into a dangerous game of politics and intrigue that could end with a life sentence in prison for him and the beloved leaders of his community.
Friday, May 20, 2016 - 6:30pm
The story of 85-year-old Jiro Ono, considered the world’s greatest sushi chef.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 7:00pm
What happens when the naiveté of a political rookie clashes with the realities of racial politics of the American South and ultra-partisan struggles in Washington DC?
Monday, May 16, 2016 - 7:00pm
Born on sugar plantations and spoken by more than half of Hawai‘i’s population, Pidgin captures multi-ethnic Hawai‘i’s heart and soul.
Friday, May 13, 2016 - 6:00pm
Artist Ai Weiwei has a serious problem with authority. See his story.
Tuesday, May 10, 2016 - 8:00pm
With wit and charm, The Grace Lee Project puts a hilarious spin on the eternal question, "What's in a name?"
Monday, May 9, 2016 - 8:00pm
A cure for Alzheimer’s. A Nobel Prize. An honored place in medical history. All of this hangs in the balance as scientists race to find the cure for a rare disease found on one remote Pacific island.
Sunday, May 8, 2016 - 6:00pm
A filmmaker's journey to discover the mystery behind the meaning of her extremely long Hawaiian middle name, Hepuakoamanaʻ ekapunokamalei-o-naliʻ iamekahanohanoʻ ia.
Friday, May 6, 2016 - 6:00pm
 The moving and haunting story of four former internees of the Poston Relocation Center. 
Monday, May 2, 2016 - 8:00pm
In the 1980’s an intrepid Australian pilot left behind a surfboard in the seaside village of Vanimo, Papua New Guinea. Twenty years later, surfing is not only a pillar of village life, but it’s also a means to prestige.
Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 10:00pm
Her passport said she was Cha Jung Hee. She knew she was not.
Sunday, May 1, 2016 - 9:00pm
Tibet has long been known as a place of mystique and intrigue for its ancient customs and beliefs. 
Monday, February 15, 2016 - 10:00pm
Explore the story behind the Polynesian pipeline to the NFL through the lives of high school players in Utah.
Friday, October 2, 2015 - 9:00pm
Learn about the life and work of celebrated Chinese artist and activist Ai Weiwei.