Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 04/10/2014 (All day)

This Must Be Illegal

Tributes to what may just be the most delightful form of sin.



Aired: Thu, 04/03/2014 (All day)

Hurry on Down to My House 

Home may be where the heart is, but it isn’t necessary what you think it is. House and Home don’t always sort out neatly.



Aired: Thu, 03/27/2014 (All day)

Real People, Real Talk
How song lyrics changed early in the 20th century from stylized to realistic, formal to slangy, ornate to conversational.

Aired: Thu, 03/20/2014 (All day)

Charm Songs
Hard to define, Charm Songs fill the middle ground between ballads and comic songs. Their name reflects the fact that they’re irresistible.

Aired: Thu, 03/13/2014 (All day)

The Sentimental Ballad
Romantic, elevated, impassioned, melodramatic, pure, and repressed — the major song form of the 19th century.

Aired: Thu, 03/06/2014 (All day)

“If It Wasn’t for the Irish and the Jews”
From the Irish to the Jews in Tin Pan Alley, a musical history about discrimination and acceptance.

Aired: Thu, 02/27/2014 (All day)

Satch and Bing
Friends at a time when blacks and whites were rarely friends, Armstrong and Crosby had a rare chemistry when they performed together.

Aired: Thu, 02/20/2014 (All day)

Life Is Like a Train
Even if it isn’t, follow along for a century of songs about riding the rails, from the suburbs to the other end of the continent.

Aired: Thu, 02/13/2014 (All day)

Good Times and Bad
It’s always a time for hope, but preferably with your eyes wide open.

Aired: Thu, 02/06/2014 (All day)

Sob Songs
Irving Berlin coined the term so here are the great “sob songs,” music and words by the master.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.