Fascinatin' Rhythm Listings Archive

Aired: Thu, 03/21/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Lyricists: Weill collaborated with Ira Gershwin and Alan Jay Lerner, but he also wrote with poets Langston Hughes and Ogden Nash, and playwright Maxwell Anderson.

Aired: Thu, 03/14/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Singers: Although Weill wrote mainly for the theater, soon popular singers began to record his songs and, in the process, gave them another American feel.

Aired: Thu, 03/07/2013 - 12:01am

Kurt Weill’s American Songs: When Kurt Weill came to America in the 1930s, he created a new body of work that soon became certifiably American.

Aired: Thu, 02/28/2013 - 12:01am

Iconic Songs: A few songs succeed, few become standards, and even fewer become icons. These are some of the icons.

Aired: Thu, 02/21/2013 - 12:01am

Living in Loveland: The place where lovers dream of going, expressed in the elevated romanticism of operetta and the everyday talk of Tin Pan Alley.

Aired: Thu, 02/14/2013 - 12:01am

They’re All Good American Names: American names come from nearly everywhere, from history, the Bible, slang and conversation, and more. And then they turn up in songs.

Aired: Thu, 02/07/2013 - 12:01am

Dick Haymes Croons: The title says it all, an hour devoted to one of the very best of the crooners.

Aired: Thu, 01/31/2013 - 12:01am

The Old Made New: The play between old and young, age and youth, in songs whose true subject is the confluence between time and memory.

Aired: Thu, 01/24/2013 - 12:01am

“Blue Moon” Plus: “Blue Moon” became a great standard without ever becoming a great hit; here is its unlikely story, complete with asides and digressions.

Aired: Thu, 01/17/2013 - 12:01am

Penthouse Serenade: Songs about living in New York day by day, from a penthouse to a fourth floor walk-up.

Listings prior to August 2012 can only found by using the navigation menu to the left.