Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Upcoming

Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 9:00pm
Experience the battle for a living planet in this exploration of the environmental movement. 
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 8:00pm
Follow a troop of snow monkeys in Japan to see how they prepare to face the world.
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 6:00am
Beautify your garden home with tips from the master of garden design, P. Allen Smith.  
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 8:00pm
Get a delightful, provocative look at the love life of animals.

Recently

Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 8:00pm
Join Joe Hutto as he crosses the species divide and becomes part of a wild mule deer family.
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 7:00pm
The tragic sinking of the supposedly "unsinkable" luxury cruise ship Titanic on April 15, 1912, is an event that has continued to live on in the public consciousness.
Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 10:00pm
Why does the human body look the way it does? Why do our hands have five fingers instead of six? Why do we walk on two legs instead of four?
Sunday, April 6, 2014 - 7:00pm
More than 100 years ago, explorer Captain Robert Falcon Scott and his companions set out on a journey to the South Pole.
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 9:00pm
Follow scientists who are returning apex predators to their natural environments — and learn why.
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 10:00pm
Examine new forensic techniques being used to study the famed explorer’s lost diary.
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 10:00pm
Travel to the Sahara with scientist Paul Sereno to excavate an ancient human cemetery. 
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 8:00pm
Large-scale die-offs of frogs around the world have prompted scientists to take desperate measures to try to save whatever populations they can.
Thursday, March 6, 2014 - 8:00pm
Julia Robinson, a pioneer among American women in mathematics, rose to prominence in a field where often she was the only woman.
Wednesday, February 26, 2014 - 8:00pm
Join cameraman Colin Stafford-Johnson on a quest to film the natural history of the Shannon River.
Monday, February 24, 2014 - 9:00pm
Metal comes to Britain from Europe, and soon wealth, imports and exports create new social forces.
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 9:00pm
See a fresh investigation of Easter Island, a remote speck that has mystified the world for centuries. 
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 8:00pm
Follow specialists in South Africa who take on masters of mayhem — honey badgers.
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 12:00pm
Today on Connections with Evan Dawson...
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 12:00pm
Today on Connections with Evan Dawson...
Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 12:00pm
Today on Connections with Evan Dawson...
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 9:00pm
Watch a team of bricklayers build an experimental “mini-Duomo” using period tools and techniques.
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 12:00pm
Today on Connections with Evan Dawson...
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 12:00pm
Today on Connections with Evan Dawson...

 

Visit our other special pages