Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Recently

Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 10:00pm
Can the latest scientific techniques and clues unearthed in archives finally solve the mystery of the two Mona Lisas?
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 8:00pm
The three-part series continues with a trip to St. Paul's Cathedral in London.
Tuesday, July 1, 2014 - 8:00pm
With cutting-edge technology that can “read” buildings, ruins, and landscapes from ancient worlds this three-part series reveals physical and forensic history.
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 10:00pm
Watch amateur and professional video of the tsunami that struck Japan in March 2011.
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 8:00pm
Join Sir David Attenborough on a journey through the weird and wonderful world of frogs.
Friday, June 20, 2014 - 10:00pm
The mile-and-half-long High Line is like a living museum of plants - a tour de force of public landscaping - carefully curated atop an abandoned elevated railroad
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 10:00pm
Hawking, the first-ever autobiographical documentary about physicist Stephen Hawking
Sunday, May 25, 2014 - 9:00pm
If consciousness is just the workings of neurons and synapses, how do we explain the phenomenon of near-death experience?
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 9:00pm
Learn about the revolutionary bouncing bomb and the bombers who destroyed two gigantic dams in Germany’s industrial heartland during WWII.
Wednesday, May 21, 2014 - 8:00pm
Check out swarm intelligence, essentially a living embodiment of social media in the natural world.
Monday, May 19, 2014 - 5:30pm
Jonathan Bird’s Blue World, an educational family-oriented underwater adventure series
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 8:00pm
Learn how beavers are being recruited to reverse the effects of global warming and water shortages.
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 9:00pm
Uncover the science behind the hunting instincts of the great white shark.
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 8:00pm
Get a delightful, provocative look at the love life of animals.
Saturday, April 26, 2014 - 6:00am
Beautify your garden home with tips from the master of garden design, P. Allen Smith.  
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 8:00pm
Follow a troop of snow monkeys in Japan to see how they prepare to face the world.
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 9:00pm
Experience the battle for a living planet in this exploration of the environmental movement. 
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 8:00pm
Join Joe Hutto as he crosses the species divide and becomes part of a wild mule deer family.
Sunday, April 13, 2014 - 7:00pm
The tragic sinking of the supposedly "unsinkable" luxury cruise ship Titanic on April 15, 1912, is an event that has continued to live on in the public consciousness.
Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 10:00pm
Why does the human body look the way it does? Why do our hands have five fingers instead of six? Why do we walk on two legs instead of four?

 

Visit our other special pages