Science & Nature

Science & Nature programs on WXXI TV
and Radio as well as online discussion
and special events hosted by WXXI are featured below.

Upcoming

Wednesday, May 11, 2016 - 8:00pm
It won’t come as any surprise that survival is the number one goal in the animal kingdom. But to ensure success on a continual basis, many creatures have opted to form alliances rather than go it alone.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 9:00pm
PBS and National Geographic have partnered on a six-part science series that aims to decode the mysteries of evolutionary biology, astrophysics and quantum mechanics.
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 8:30pm
An estimated 4 million babies are born in the United States each year, and many moms have specific hopes for how their labor will go.
Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 10:00pm
Disasters are big business. Follow an investigation with NPR into who profits when disaster strikes.

Recently

Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 10:00pm
Although intellect and talent were vital to the preeminent scientists of the 20th century, it was ultimately their individual personalities and quirks that drove each to great discoveries.
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 9:00pm
This documentary charts sculptor and Irondequoit native, Todd McGrain's efforts to memorialize five birds — the Great Auk, Carolina Parakeet, Labrador Duck, Passenger Pigeon and Heath Hen
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 8:00pm
Take a detailed look at owls and see how they’re influencing 21st-century technology and design.
Tuesday, April 26, 2016 - 8:00pm
Inspired by Timothy Egan’s best-selling book, The Big Burn is the dramatic story of the massive wildfire that swept across the Northern Rockies in the summer of 1910.
Monday, April 25, 2016 - 9:00pm
This six-part documentary series, directed by Ken Burns and co-produced with Dayton Duncan, is the story of an idea as uniquely American as the Declaration of Independence and just as radical
Wednesday, April 20, 2016 - 9:00pm
Explore how newly established wildlife corridors offer hope to our planet’s endangered species.
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 10:00pm
The reality of bipolar disorder is hard to fathom: five and a half million Americans have been diagnosed with the disorder and yet so little is known about how the illness manifests itself in our brains.
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 8:00pm
Explore the serene spaces that offer city dwellers a respite from the hustle and bustle of urban life
Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 8:00pm
Feel the emotion as keepers and carers reunite with the wild animals that were once in their care
Tuesday, March 29, 2016 - 8:00pm
Can the latest scientific techniques and clues unearthed in archives finally solve the mystery of the two Mona Lisas?
Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 8:00pm
Hosted by Dr. David Eagleman, neuroscientist, New York Times best-selling author and a Guggenheim Fellow, The Brain reveals the true story of how our brains create the rich and beautiful world around us
Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 8:00pm
Follow Scott Kelly’s 12-month mission on the International Space Station, from launch to descent.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 9:00pm
Meet the pioneering Air Force scientists and pilots whose Project Manhigh, which collected data about the biological and technical factors required to support human activity in space, laid the groundwork for the US space program.
Wednesday, February 24, 2016 - 10:00pm
Nearly everything we do today leaves an indelible digital trail: Where we live. What we search. What we read. Where we go. What we buy. What we say. All of this data is being recorded and stored. 
Wednesday, February 17, 2016 - 9:00pm
New revelations about the ancient ice mummy, Otzi, shed light on the dawn of civilization in Europe.
Monday, February 15, 2016 - 4:00pm
READY JET GO! is a new PBS KIDS earth science and astronomy series for children ages 3-8.
Wednesday, February 10, 2016 - 8:00pm
Travel to Canada’s Rockies and into the world of moose to experience a calf’s first year of life.
Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 10:00pm
The first woman to be awarded a Nobel prize, Marie Curie was an extraordinary woman whose story is as remarkable in the modern day as it was last century.
Wednesday, February 3, 2016 - 9:00pm
Dive in with deep-sea scientists as they explore the undersea world of glowing creatures.
Wednesday, January 27, 2016 - 8:00pm
Get to know the masters of disguise and illusion, the cheats and sneaks in the animal world.

 

Visit our other special pages