Arts and Culture

ANTIQUES ROADSHOW "San Diego" on WXXI-TV

Thu, 02/10/2011 - 9:00pm

Featuring a 400 year old publication of botanical illustrations.

Pioneers of Television "Late Night" on WXXI-TV

Tue, 02/15/2011 - 8:00pm

Pioneers of Television looks at the formative years of late-night television with Steve Allen, Jack Paar and Johnny Carson.

Masterpiece Classic: Any Human Heart on WXXI-TV

Sun, 02/13/2011 - 9:00pm

A story about a man — at various times a writer, lover, prisoner of war and spy — making his often precarious way through the 20th century.

On A Personal Note on WXXI-TV

Wed, 09/21/2011 - 10:00pm

The relationship between very young and gifted classical pianists and their art is explored in this perceptive documentary.

Pioneers of Television "Local Kids' TV" on WXXI-TV

Tue, 02/08/2011 - 8:00pm

Pioneers of local kids' TV including Willard Scott, Stan Freberg, Jim Henson, Larry Harmon and Nancy Claster.

The Met Opera presents Rigoletto

Sat, 01/22/2011 - 1:00pm

The Verdi favorite returns with great casts, including Diana Damrau, Joseph Calleja, Giuseppe Filianoti, and Željko Lucic

POV "Following Sean"

Sat, 02/05/2011 - 9:00pm

Filmmaker Ralph Arlyck revisits his child film subject 30 years later.

Met Opera: Iphigénie En Tauride

Sat, 02/26/2011 - 1:00pm

The Met Opera presents Iphigénie En Tauride.

GREAT PERFORMANCES AT THE MET: Nixon in China

Sun, 08/19/2012 - 2:00pm

Baritone James Maddalena stars as Nixon, a role he created to widespread acclaim.

Super Drama Sunday with Masterpiece Classic on WXXI-TV

Sun, 02/06/2011 - 12:30pm

Football not your cup of tea? Skip the Super Bowl and tune in for an afternoon of classic Jane Austen romances.