Arts and Culture

History Detectives: Chicago Clock, Universal Friends, War Dog Letter on WXXI-TV

Mon, 09/06/2010 - 9:00pm

The History Detectives visit Penn Yan to investigate the case of Jemima Wilkinson, founder of the Society of Friends.

Independent Lens "Taking Root: The Vision of Wangari Maathai"

Wed, 08/10/2011 - 9:00pm

I started planting trees and found myself in the forefront of fighting for the restoration of democracy in my country.” —Wangari Maathai

Voces "Soy Andina"

Fri, 09/24/2010 - 7:00pm

Two New York City dancers explore their heritage and Latin American culture through the world of traditional dance.

American Masters "John James Audubon: Drawn From Nature"

Thu, 09/23/2010 - 6:00pm

The complex life of the artist whose pioneering work helped define a young nation.

Los Lonely Boys: Cottonfields and Crossroads

Fri, 09/16/2011 - 8:30pm

The story of three Mexican-American brothers from Texas who create a signature music style they call "Texican."

American Masters "Orozco: Man of Fire" on WXXI-TV

Mon, 09/20/2010 - 10:30pm

Muralist Orozco's bold, dynamic frescoes had a profound impact on American painters.

American Masters "Cachao: Uno Más"

Fri, 10/04/2013 - 7:30pm

An in-depth celebration of the legendary Father of the Mambo, Israel “Cachao” Lopez.

Craft in America "Process" on WXXI-TV

Sun, 08/14/2011 - 2:30pm

The craft artist is, more often than not, an inventor of process. 

Latin Music USA Parts 3 & 4 of 4

Fri, 09/17/2010 - 7:00pm

Tune in as this series celebrates the great American music created by Latinos.

2501 Migrants: A Journey

Tue, 10/08/2013 - 6:00pm

Alejandro Santiago went home. What he found led him on an artist journey of local and global significance.