Arts and Culture

Peace Unveiled on WXXI-TV/HD

Tue, 10/25/2011 - 10:00pm

Part three of the five-part series Women, War & Peace continues.

PBS Arts from the Blue Ridge Mountains: Give Me the Banjo on WXXI-TV

Sun, 11/06/2011 - 2:00pm

This film explores the roots of American music — the minstrel show, ragtime and early jazz, blues, old-time, folk, bluegrass and country.

Thanksgiving with Cantus

Thu, 11/22/2012 - 1:00pm

Gear up for the holiday season as the charming gentlemen of Cantus celebrate Thanksgiving.

Live from Hochstein: A Cup of Good Cheer

Wed, 12/07/2011 - 12:10pm - 1:00pm

Madrigalia host this Live from Hochstein holiday tradition.

Women in Music (Composers)

Wed, 03/28/2012 - 12:10pm

Tune in for an exciting new season of Live from Hochstein.

RPO Marimba Band

Wed, 03/21/2012 - 12:10pm

Tune in for an exciting new season of Live from Hochstein.

Jake Holliday Purcell, Blackfriars Theatre, and Million Dollar Quartet

Sat, 10/22/2011 - 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Join host Robert Hammond as he talks to Jake Holliday Purcell about his starring role in the Blackfriars Theatre production of The Mystery of Irma Vep playing from October 22nd through November 11th.

Mornings on Classical 91.5, October 17 - 21

Join Brenda Tremblay for music, a mystery piece, and arts news. The Composers Datebook airs at 7:20 and the Writer’s Almanac at 8:20. Features air around 8:35.

Monday, October 17

Music by Bizet and Herbert Howells

On the Composers Datebook: Schuman starts on third


Tuesday, October 18

 Pieces by Haydn, Sibelius, and Stravinsky

Performances from Renee Fleming, Itzhak Perlman, and Yo-Yo Ma

Composers Datebook: Moross's First, Copland's Third

Met Opera Live in HD

Sat, 10/15/2011 - 12:55pm

Presents "Anna Bolena" at Tinseltown, Henrietta Staduim 18, Eastview Mall 13 and Webster 12.

Why Quilts Matter: History, Art, and Politics on WXXI-TV

Sun, 10/30/2011 - 1:30pm

Tune in for this nine-part documentary series that looks at quilts in fresh new ways.